Recipe of the week: Crispy Total Tofu

Last night, D and I made our meals for the week with a friend. Our friend is trying to eat healthier and doesn’t have much experience with cooking and so as a trade for taking care of our puppy in December, we are training her on the N and D ways of cooking healthy. Last night reminded me of my beginning attempts to cook, especially when I became vegetarian. At first, I attempted to take family recipes made with chicken or turkey and just transform them into recipes made with tofu, seitan, tempeh, or other fake meat products. I can’t say I make most any of these meals anymore, but it was a good start to transitioning to healthier cooking as I started with what I was comfortable with.

One of the meals that I made at that time of transition was a recipe that I made for many meat eaters and was able to convince them it was meat when it was actually made with tofu. I knew that if I told them it was made with tofu, they wouldn’t even bother trying it. There are some tofu haters out there! I will admit that tofu made in the typical way with breading is not my cup of tea either. But tofu is one of the most versatile foods out there. It takes on the flavor and texture of everything around it. So give it a chance here first before you diss all tofu forever.

I’ve given this recipe out to many people, and every time, I received a raised eyebrow because the ingredients are so out there (though simple and cheap as well). However, they’ve always come back to me and said “Ya know, it was really good…and it really tasted like chicken!” Without further ado, here it is:

Credits to the Soybean Checkoff
Credits to the Soybean Checkoff

Crispy Total Tofu

  • 2 heaping tbsps peanut butter
  • 1 heaping tbsp fruit preserves or jam (any flavor)
  • 1 box Total cereal or any corn flakes (preferably without corn syrup)
  • 1 container extra firm tofu

Preheat oven at 375.

Mix peanut butter and preserves together in a bowl. Press tofu between your hands over a sink and then with paper towels so it is as dry as possible. Cut into medium-sized cubes. Dry your hands. Crumble Total (or corn flakes) in your fingers into a bowl- Start with a few handfuls and keep adding into the bowl as you need it. Roll the dry tofu cubes in the peanut butter/preserve mixture and then dip into the Total/corn flakes.

*Note: Don’t think you’re doing something wrong if it’s a total mess. It is! It can be made easier if you have two people, one to dip the tofu into the PB/preserves and one that then dips the tofu into the Total. You may need more PB/preserve mixture. If you do, just make sure there is a 2:1 ratio of PB: preserves in any quantity you need.

As you complete each tofu cube, place onto aluminum foil on a cookie or baking sheet. Once done with the whole tofu block, bake at 375 for 15 minutes.

Crispy Tofu!
Crispy Tofu!

Suggestion: Serve with low-sodium teriyaki sauce for dipping and steamed veggies with brown rice.

Another great tofu recipe is a marinade you can read about here.

Is there a recipe you have that you would like advice on how to make healthier? Comment with it below and I will do my best and hopefully make it into a featured recipe of the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

